×

A MIAM (Mediation, Information and Assessment Meeting) is required before making an application under the Children Act for a Financial Remedy Order.

 

The first meeting with a mediator gives you the chance to find out the options available to you including how mediation works. Mediators are trained to assess whether mediation is right for you and your family.

 

At Victoria House Mediation our qualified MIAM provider is Laura Bell.  

 

At the MIAM they will discuss:

  • How many sessions you may need
  • How much the sessions will cost
  • Information about other services that provide help and support
  • Any other options available to help you to resolve issues
 

The other person involved is invited to attend a separate MIAM. They do not go to the same meeting as you.

 

After your MIAM meeting our mediation coordinator (Julia McGuigan) will contact you to confirm if your case is suitable for mediation and if so she will arrange a date and time for the first joint meeting.

 

After your MIAM appointment, if the Mediator considers that your case is not suitable for mediation then they can sign the relevant Court form to enable you to issue proceedings.

 

Our fee for a MIAM is £100 + VAT per person.

"I cannot thank you enough for all you have done for me. I know you did your job but it felt like a personal service. I always knew you had my feelings and interests at heart. You've made me very relieved and happy. I have a smile on my face and my work colleagues are noticing. Thank you so very much. "

AL

Key Contacts

Laura Bell

Associate Solicitor

Related Articles

Thursday 15 August, 2019

Back To School From 2 Separate Homes

Wednesday 3 July, 2019

Summer Holiday Parenting Plan

Friday 26 April, 2019

5 Initial Steps to Getting a Divorce

Tuesday 19 March, 2019

Spring: A Time For Bright Beginnings

Friday 25 January, 2019

“Meet the Mediator”

Monday 21 January, 2019

The Business of Divorce

Tuesday 8 January, 2019

Making Preparations for the New Year

a-woman-coping-with-christmas-after-separation

Tuesday 11 December, 2018

Coping with Christmas After Separation

Friday 7 September, 2018

The Price of Parenthood

Tuesday 17 July, 2018

Cleared for Take Off?

Tuesday 10 July, 2018

Changes For Better, Not Worse

Tuesday 22 May, 2018

Divorce Goes Virtual

Tuesday 8 May, 2018

Marrying Abroad This Summer?

Tuesday 20 March, 2018

Could a pre-nup save your marriage?

Thursday 14 December, 2017

Christmas Arrangements with Children

Wednesday 11 October, 2017

The Dangers of DIY Divorce