×

Thinking about legal issues when a relationship begins is rarely the first thing on your mind. Generally, people are not aware of their legal position of living together when a relationship breaks down.

 

If you are thinking of living with a partner, or intending to marry or enter into a civil partnership, we can draw up an agreement reflecting your intentions. We have a wealth of experience in preparing and advising on cohabitation agreements and pre-nuptual or post-nuptual agreements which can be tailored to your specific circumstances.

 

The law relating to couples living outside of marriage or civil partnership is very different from the law that relates to those within them. At Lamb Brooks, we can help you consider the options and their enforceability.

 

There is a common myth that if you live together you are common law husband and wife. The truth is, it doesn’t matter how long you have lived together, you do not have the status of any husband and wife. This means that, should you separate, the law relating to married couples or civil partnerships would not relate to you.

 

When a cohabitating relationship breaks down, it becomes necessary to turn to the laws covering land and property, trusts, contracts and children. Lamb Brooks’ specialist family solicitors can find the appropriate remedies for your individual circumstances.

"I cannot thank you enough for all you have done for me. I know you did your job but it felt like a personal service. I always knew you had my feelings and interests at heart. You've made me very relieved and happy. I have a smile on my face and my work colleagues are noticing. Thank you so very much. "

AL

Key Contacts

Rob Parker

Partner & Head of Family Law Team

Laura Bell

Associate Solicitor

Related Articles

Wednesday 3 July, 2019

Summer Holiday Parenting Plan

Friday 26 April, 2019

5 Initial Steps to Getting a Divorce

Tuesday 19 March, 2019

Spring: A Time For Bright Beginnings

Friday 25 January, 2019

“Meet the Mediator”

Monday 21 January, 2019

The Business of Divorce

Tuesday 8 January, 2019

Making Preparations for the New Year

a-woman-coping-with-christmas-after-separation

Tuesday 11 December, 2018

Coping with Christmas After Separation

Friday 7 September, 2018

The Price of Parenthood

Tuesday 17 July, 2018

Cleared for Take Off?

Tuesday 10 July, 2018

Changes For Better, Not Worse

Tuesday 22 May, 2018

Divorce Goes Virtual

Tuesday 8 May, 2018

Marrying Abroad This Summer?

Tuesday 20 March, 2018

Could a pre-nup save your marriage?

Thursday 14 December, 2017

Christmas Arrangements with Children

Wednesday 11 October, 2017

The Dangers of DIY Divorce