×

There are many reasons why businesses choose to offer Settlement Agreements to employees. These can include settling disputes, affecting exits by mutual agreement and paying enhanced redundancy or ex gratia sums.

 

A Settlement Agreement is required if an employee is to compromise their statutory and contractual rights, thereby precluding them from pursuing an existing claim, or issuing a future one in an employment tribunal or court. This gives employers certainty and peace of mind, as well as allowing employers the opportunity to have employees enter into various obligations, including those related to confidentiality and non-bad mouthing.

 

The Lamb Brooks Employment Department has extensive experience in advising businesses on when a Settlement Agreement might be appropriate, preparing Settlement Agreements themselves, and guiding employers through the do’s and dont’s of protected conversations and without prejudice discussions. If you are considering offering a Settlement Agreement to an employee then contact the Lamb Brooks Employment Department today.

"I have every confidence in using Lamb Brooks to deal with any issues my business faces. We always receive straight-forward advice and ongoing support when it is required."

Anon

Key Contacts

Karen Bristow

Partner & Head of Employment Law

Related Articles

Thursday 16 May, 2019

Addressing Mental Health at Work

shutterstock_736146328

Thursday 3 January, 2019

Inappropriate Behaviour in the Workplace

Thursday 25 October, 2018

Mind The (Gender) Pay Gap

Thursday 16 August, 2018

The Gender Agenda for Trans Staff

Wednesday 27 June, 2018

Too Hot to Work?

Wednesday 2 May, 2018

Gender Pay Gap Reporting & Equal Pay

Wednesday 18 April, 2018

All Change! Spring Employment Law Update

Friday 23 March, 2018

Snow Laughing Matter

Tuesday 6 March, 2018

When Mini-Breaks Just Don’t Cut It

Saturday 7 October, 2017

Mindfulness in the Workplace

Wednesday 4 October, 2017

Managing Difficult People

Wednesday 27 September, 2017

Autumn Employment Law Round-Up