×

When taking on new staff or consultants it is easy to make assumptions and mistakes about employment status. The employment status of the members of your workforce is vital in determining their employment rights and tax status.

 

This area of law is ever developing and employment status for the purposes of employment rights differs from employment status for the purposes of taxation. Placing a label upon an individual’s employment status within their contract is not determinative and does not protect your business. A tribunal will take into account the practical day-to-day arrangements that you have in place so it is critical that these mirror your intentions in respect of employment status. It might seem straightforward, but many businesses fall foul of this area of law as has been seen in relation to the developing area of the gig- economy.

 

The Lamb Brooks Employment Department is here to help you understand whether your staff are employees, workers or self-employed and ensure that you have the correct contracts in place as well as guide you in respect of working practices.

"Global Service Group relies on Lamb Brooks not just for faultless legal advice but also because of their commercial understanding of our business. In particular, their Employment and Litigation teams' excellent support has not only given us a significant financial advantage but also enabled us to bid on complex contracts with confidence. I have no hesitation recommending Lamb Brooks as a trusted business partner."

Rob Berringer

Key Contacts

Karen Bristow

Partner & Head of Employment Law

Related Articles

Thursday 16 May, 2019

Addressing Mental Health at Work

shutterstock_736146328

Thursday 3 January, 2019

Inappropriate Behaviour in the Workplace

Thursday 25 October, 2018

Mind The (Gender) Pay Gap

Thursday 16 August, 2018

The Gender Agenda for Trans Staff

Wednesday 27 June, 2018

Too Hot to Work?

Wednesday 2 May, 2018

Gender Pay Gap Reporting & Equal Pay

Wednesday 18 April, 2018

All Change! Spring Employment Law Update

Friday 23 March, 2018

Snow Laughing Matter

Tuesday 6 March, 2018

When Mini-Breaks Just Don’t Cut It

Saturday 7 October, 2017

Mindfulness in the Workplace

Wednesday 4 October, 2017

Managing Difficult People

Wednesday 27 September, 2017

Autumn Employment Law Round-Up